Benin is located in the West African tropical region near the equator. Benin is surrounded by Nigeria, Togo, Burkina-Faso and Niger. The coast of Benin is located on the Gulf of Benin (Atlantic).

The total area of Benin is approximately 114 763 m2. Climatically, the country is divided in two: While there are two rainy and two dry seasons in the south, the north has only one rainy and a dry season. The coastal region in the south is flat, while in the north the mountains of Atakora dominate the landscape.